TechSupport Forum

Go Back   Perfect World > Technical Assistance > Updating/Patching Problems
Login

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
For the last week the people in this thread (http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=352481) have not been able to get in the game the traceroutes in there all stop before the game server, yet its not an isp problem on our end as we all leave our ISP network and swap to a different one before the cryptic game servers.

Please help sort this out fast its been a week already, I've run so many tests and diagnostics I cant remember what I've done, both my laptop and desktop have the same issue, yet if I use my phone as a hotspot it gets to the launcher no issue. The best I can understand the signal drops during or after the cogentco.com b06 boston router.



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com
Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 14 ms 8 ms 17 ms 10.93.180.1
2 13 ms 17 ms 22 ms bagu-core-2b-ae3-1365.network.virginmedia.net [8
0.5.167.213]
3 13 ms 27 ms 23 ms leed-bb-1b-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.5.1
61.245]
4 19 ms 11 ms 12 ms leed-bb-1a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253
.187.185]
5 25 ms 32 ms 20 ms brnt-bb-1b-as2-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.175.26]
6 31 ms 15 ms 23 ms brnt-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.159.50]
7 21 ms 17 ms 18 ms telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
185.74]
8 31 ms 48 ms 29 ms te1-3.ccr01.lon04.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15
.69]
9 101 ms 91 ms 116 ms te0-2-0-4.ccr22.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.38.69]
10 97 ms 95 ms 95 ms te0-0-0-4.mpd22.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.57.157]
11 106 ms 92 ms 90 ms te0-2-0-4.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.43.57]
12 97 ms 96 ms 92 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
130]
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.
Trace complete.
C:\Windows\system32>
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 2
08-21-2012, 08:24 AM
Your traceroute looks fine, and the trace stops at the firewall like it is suppose to.

We have been reporting it to other people here at PWE for the players that are having these issues.

Did you try resetting your router or modem, and power cycling it?
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 3
08-21-2012, 08:48 AM
Did you try disabling ondemand patching and restarting your PC and the game again?

Did you try Options > Force Verify and let it finish?

Reinstalling did not help with the latest game client?
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
# 4
08-22-2012, 10:19 PM
I can't count the amount of resets and full factory resets I've done in the last 9-10 days.

As for the launcher option I can't even get the launcher to come up unless I use my phone as a hotspot. But have the got the data allowance to download the patch. I always disabled on demand patching as I preferred a full install and since I can't get past auto update on launcher I am unable to force verify.

Quite literally I can't even load the launcher at all.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
# 5
08-22-2012, 10:21 PM
Thing is the trace route doesn't get to the server though it's stops at the firewall and gets blocked it seems.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
# 6
08-23-2012, 02:06 AM
This is mine currently cannot get to the launcher sits on Cryptic Launcher Autoupdate for two tries then pops up the cannot connect box

tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 74 ms 81 ms 99 ms 172.30.162.11
2 93 ms 76 ms 99 ms 172.30.175.37
3 91 ms 73 ms 160 ms 172.16.3.251
4 114 ms 104 ms 116 ms 209.117.164.185
5 744 ms 124 ms 86 ms vb1700.rar3.chicago-il.us.xo.net [216.156.0.161]

6 111 ms 77 ms 80 ms 207.88.14.194.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.14.194]
7 116 ms 87 ms 99 ms te0-4-0-2.ccr21.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.10.181]
8 104 ms 90 ms 99 ms te0-5-0-1.mpd21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.169]
9 139 ms 121 ms 134 ms te0-0-0-5.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.28.114]
10 128 ms 131 ms 122 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
134]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
# 7
08-23-2012, 05:38 AM
I just did a complete factory reset on my laptop as an experiment and it's just done a trace route to the patch server and fails to get past the cogentco.com b06 router. PWE needs to contact cogent to get them to sort this out or check your server as it is nothing to do with our end.

I'm just a tad frustrated with everyone saying I can log in must be your computer or ISP. Thus why I also did the factory reset. Oh well it'll probably take ages to fix and now I'm off to reinstall everything
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
# 8
08-23-2012, 01:16 PM
Okies ladies and gents, I just came within a hair's breadth of declaring victory over this gods foresaken problem, only to have that victory snatched away!!!

I did some poking around via Google, searching for any and all hits with regard to "Launcher PCL Error" (in quotes and originally found in my game folder's error log as 'Launcher PCL Error the connection was idle for too long'). Well, in the course of my search, I came across this Forum thread, for another PWE game, found here: http://server.getaway.perfectworld.c...255461&page=14.

So, this person there, named Xanfar, suggested that everyone take a peek at this: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...152208453.jpg/. So, even though I only have a passing understanding of German, I realized what he was getting at and also realized that the layout in English is identical. So, I right clicked on my desktop STO icon, then went to 'Properties', then set everything up (almost everything, as I checked off 'Windows XP (Service Pack 3)) as seen in the screencapture pic I posted above.

I then tried the STO desktop icon again and...lo and frakkin' behold...the launcher actually came up!!!! I then promptly clicked on 'Patch' and it actually started patching. I let the patch conclude. Then I clicked on 'Launch'. The 'Cryptic' logo came up and one of those 'PC is thinking' blue circles was spinning.

And here's where victory got snatched away...a ding ding resounded and I got a fatal error message. No idea what it was. So, then I tried again...went back to the same "Trying to update the launcher. Please be patient. Tried connecting 2 times." shtick.

So, then I right clicked on my desktop STO icon again and changed the compatibility for 'Windows XP (Service Pack 2)'. Tried desktop STO launch icon again. And, again the launcher/login came up! This time it was accompanied by a prompt that I had suffered an error and asked if I would like to Verify files (saying it would take 10 to 20 minutes). I clicked yes.

Now, please bear in mind that I've never done a 'Force Verify' before. I noticed all sorts of stuff in the launcher progress bar for a while and then it seemed to hang on 'Connecting...'. So, I clicked on the 'Options' link, in the launcher, and made sure that 'Force Verify' had been checked. Even though it still said 'Connecting...', I tried to click on 'Launch' and nothing happened.

Tried the STO desktop icon again. Got the usual "Trying to update the launcher. Please be patient. Tried connecting 2 times." again. Tried to change back to another compatibility mode. No luck.

So, it seems as though I got sooooo close and yet I still feel soooo far from resolving this once and for all.

Any thoughts on this psuedo-progress I experienced all?
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
# 9
08-24-2012, 04:10 AM
Was basically told it's not their problem and go find help elsewhere. Thanks for nothing.
That One Tech Admin
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 283
# 10
08-24-2012, 09:16 AM
Hey guys,

Here is something we send to try to address this issue when players send in tickets. We can't guarantee its success but it has worked for players.

You can try adding the game folder/files to your exceptions list in your antivirus and firewall software. Please see the help menu or support website for the software that you use if you aren't sure how to do it.

At your own risk, you may have to disable your antivirus, firewall, and other security software temporarily while you download, install, update, login to, and play the game. Sometimes the security software will block it or throttle it, no matter what you try or even if you try to add exceptions for the game files in your security software.

Please go to: http://files.startrekonline.com/laun...k%20Online.exe or http://files.champions-online.com/la...s%20Online.exe to download the launcher.

Please be sure to put the file into your Cryptic Launcher folder; which is typically C:\Program Files (x86)\Cryptic Studios; overwriting the existing file of the same name that is in there. This will be the same folder that also has CrypticError.exe.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 AM.