TechSupport Forum

Go Back   Perfect World > Technical Assistance > Updating/Patching Problems
Login

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tech Support User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
# 1 Neverwinter Error 36
05-08-2013, 10:33 AM
Error 36: A file was locked that could not be open for writing.

I was patching the game, when reached 100% I've got this message: "Error 36: A file was locked that could not be open for writing."

Version NW.1.20130416a.16 - Torrent

Windows 8 PRO 64bits
Intel Core i3 M380 2.52GHz
Intel HD Graphics
4gb RAM

(Sorry my english, I'm from Brazil).
Tech Support User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
# 2
05-08-2013, 12:54 PM
You need to change the permissions of the folder. for some reason they are set so that the program can't write to that folder.

You need to right click on that folder that contains neverwinter and select properties on the drop down. From there select the Security tab at the top. From there click on TrustedInstaller and then click on the edit button to the right of the box at the bottom. Click on full control and click "apply" then "ok". Do the same for All Application Packages and your launcher should be able to update correctly.

Mine did the same thing.
Tech Support User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
# 3
05-09-2013, 08:14 PM
You can also right click the launcher and run as admin, it worked for me.
Tech Support User
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
# 4
05-10-2013, 03:03 AM
Thanks alot from here - helped alot!

Stupid support tbh! "you need to make a lvl 10 character to get help"
Do'h couldnt log in to make 1
Anyway its patching now after searching for an answer for 1 hour!
The Error help they provide is..start the launcher, maybe PM them about this answer insted? Might help other ppl and in that end, the support
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
# 5 Solution Didn't work for me
08-13-2013, 04:57 PM
I tried the suggestion on changing the permissions of the folders and it didn't work, I'm still running into error 36. Also when it comes to running the program as an administrator, I am the admin on this computer so that can't be the issue.

...Please help...
Tech Support User
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
# 6 admin
12-25-2013, 11:41 AM
Just because you are the admin doesn't mean the program is being run as admin. Im the admin on my computer and i have to do the same thing. Merry Christmas, My gift to you is knowledge!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.