TechSupport Forum

Go Back   Perfect World > Technical Assistance > Updating/Patching Problems
Login

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
For those of you who can't get the launcher to work in CO or STO, in order to patch the game and/or login...

---> You can try flushing your DNS to help with connection issues.

1) Press the Windows Key + R

Should bring up Run window.

2) Type in cmd and press Enter

A black command prompt window should appear.

3) Type in ipconfig /flushdns and press Enter.



---You can try one of the following links depending on which game launcher you are trying to update:

Star Trek Online: http://files.startrekonline.com/laun...k%20Online.exe
Champions Online: http://files.champions-online.com/la...s%20Online.exe

You will be replacing the launcher file.


--INSTRUCTIONS FOR WINDOWS 7

Place the file into the Cryptic Launcher folder
Typical installation location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Cryptic Studios
This will be the same folder that has the CrypticError.exe file
Overwrite the existing file of the same name
Start the game using the new launcher


--INSTRUCTIONS FOR WINDOWS XP

Place the file into the Cryptic Launcher folder
Typical installation location: C:\Program Files\Cryptic Studios
This will be the same folder that has the CrypticError.exe file
Overwrite the existing file of the same name
Start the game using the new launcher



For those of you who CAN get the launcher working fine...

You can try power cycling your network hardware so it is unplugged from electricity for 10 minutes. This will help your router/modem get a new IP address, which might make it easier to update and connect.

You can try Force Verify in Options on the game launcher, let it complete, and try again.

You can try using the Proxy connection to connect to.

You can try to enable/disable the "On-demand Patching" box through the game launcher > Settings.

Something may be blocking your connection to the game, which can happen after and update.

You can try adding the game folder/files to your exceptions list in your antivirus and firewall software. Please see the help menu or support website for the software that you use if you aren't sure how to do it.

At your own risk, you may have to disable your antivirus, firewall, and other security software temporarily while you download, install, update, login to, and play the game. Sometimes the security software will block it or throttle it, no matter what you try or even if you try to add exceptions for the game files in your security software.

You may also have to disable, shut down, uninstall, or disable any: torrent, keyboard/mouse, web browser toolbars, video/screen capture, gamepad/input device, multimedia, Instant Messaging, voice over IP, web browser games, other games software applications before downloading, installing, updating, logging into, and playing the game. Basically shut down all non-essential programs.

All else fails, contact tech support. If you have traceroutes, and any more information explaining what you have tried so far, that would be very helpful.


---Edit Update: You can try running cmd in Windows Run as Admin, then navigating to the launcher's exe and running it.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
# 2
09-21-2012, 06:18 AM
This isn't a fix for the thread you closed, the launcher wasn't the problem.
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 3
09-22-2012, 08:08 AM
Did you read the second part of the post?
Tech Support User
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
# 4
10-15-2012, 12:57 PM
This doesn't help me at all. Still get stuck on Cryptic Launcher Autoupdate. Any new ideas?
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 5
10-16-2012, 10:27 AM
What exactly did you try in the information presented to you?

What changes to your software did you make?

What errors did you get?
Tech Support User
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
# 6
10-16-2012, 03:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPanda16 View Post
For those of you who can't get the launcher to work in CO or STO, in order to patch the game and/or login...

You can try one of the following links depending on which game launcher you are trying to update:

Star Trek Online: http://files.startrekonline.com/laun...k%20Online.exe
Champions Online: http://files.champions-online.com/la...s%20Online.exe

You will be replacing the launcher file.


--INSTRUCTIONS FOR WINDOWS 7

Place the file into the Cryptic Launcher folder
Typical installation location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Cryptic Studios
This will be the same folder that has the CrypticError.exe file
Overwrite the existing file of the same name
Start the game using the new launcher


--INSTRUCTIONS FOR WINDOWS XP

Place the file into the Cryptic Launcher folder
Typical installation location: C:\Program Files\Cryptic Studios
This will be the same folder that has the CrypticError.exe file
Overwrite the existing file of the same name
Start the game using the new launcher


The only change that was made a while ago was that I installed one of the STO updates. Ever since then I have had this problem.
So I did what you suggested above. The Cryptic Launcher Autoupdate will launch and try to connect. After the second attempt and it failing I get the following message:

Quote:
Connection Problem
Unable to establish connection to Patch Server. Please check your Internet Connection. If problem persist, please contact technical support.
Now I'm pretty sure that I am connected to the Internet whilst I'm running the launcher. I ran the following Trace Route also:


C:\Users\William>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 51 ms 11 ms 10 ms 10.49.80.1
2 12 ms 108 ms 21 ms nott-core-2a-ae7-1057.network.virginmedia.net [8
0.7.83.97]
3 41 ms 14 ms 22 ms leed-bb-1c-ae4-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253
.174.61]
4 13 ms 80 ms 58 ms leed-bb-1b-ae10-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.25
3.174.25]
5 34 ms 67 ms 43 ms popl-bb-1a-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.175.130]
6 48 ms 83 ms 39 ms popl-tmr-1-ae4-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.159.2]
7 53 ms 60 ms 29 ms amst-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105
.175.6]
8 50 ms 28 ms 60 ms te7-1.ccr01.ams04.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15
.5]
9 64 ms 42 ms 44 ms te0-1-0-7.mpd21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
7.50.225]
10 57 ms 63 ms 32 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.37.78]
11 98 ms 97 ms 95 ms te0-0-0-3.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.31.169]
12 109 ms 107 ms 162 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 7
10-16-2012, 04:02 PM
The traceroute is fine, and stops at the firewall as always.

There has to be something not communicating with the autopatcher.

Did you try disabling on-demand patching?
Tech Support User
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
# 8
10-17-2012, 03:56 AM
Yes, I just used Hotspot Shield to start the launcher then disabling on demand patching.
After closing the launcher and then disconnecting Hotspot Shield so I run the game normally rather than through Hotspot Sheild the Launcher Auto Update will fail to connect. So still no progress
Tech Support User
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
# 9
10-23-2012, 01:52 AM
BUMP For reply?
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 10
10-23-2012, 09:35 AM
You may have to use hotspot shield for now if there is some weird routing issue occurring for your connection to the game and patch servers.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.