TechSupport Forum

Go Back   Perfect World > General Tech Info > General Tech Support Issues > Hot Topics
Login

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
One thing that you can try is deleting the GamePrefs.pref in the

C:\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\localdata

(folder location may be in Windows User data or other location depending on where you installed the game. )

Then restart the game.

Edit:

Please also make sure that your PC meets the system requirements.

http://sto.perfectworld.com/news/?p=560461

Intel video GPUs are not ideal to run STO (or any 3d game, really) very well, so it could be a challenge to get the game to run decently. Do consider a lower resolution, turn down the video settings in-game, and running the game in widowed mode or full screen.

You can try experimenting with the game's video/graphic settings and try to narrow down what could be causing the problems. You can try running the game in windowed mode or full screen mode, and lower/change the resolution that the game is running at.

You can try updating your mainboard, CPU, and video drivers. You may have to check your system manufacturer's support website with the model number for your system, along with the Windows version that you are running.


Edit update:

If deleting the prefs file does not work, and you still encounter the same issue and you have that chipset, please send tech support in a ticket the following:

1) Post a link to your dxdiag.txt (please name it to your character or alias name) here on the forum
2) Post a link to your new Gameprefs file that the game made after you deleted the old one.


Dec 14 Edit Update

If you are using Steam, try shutting all Steam processes down, then try running the game from the

\Steam\steamapps\common\Star Trek Online

folder, running the game launcher there. The developers are narrowing things down, but want to know if the issue is indeed the Steam shell or not with Intel video chipsets and Season 7.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
# 2 Tried that, didn't work
11-16-2012, 07:39 PM
Check to make sure your PC meets the system requirements? This is an issue with some on Season 7's graphical changes being incorrectly implemented.

The result is major instability on Intel HD and, according to other players, lesser degrees of instability on ATI and Nvidia cards as well.

I understand Intel HD Graphics is not ideal for gaming. Nevertheless, STO was marketed as being compatible with Intel HD graphics, and dropping support for it is a bad idea. For players who've ponied up money for lifetime subscriptions, you've rendered their purchased service inaccessible.

In legal terms, thats bad.

After six bluescreen incidents, I can tell you the issue is much more frequent in the new content, but not exclusive to it.

It also appears to be related to either camera zoom/movement, and/or lighting and particle effects. The new "bitmap nebula" background images in select space maps may also play a role.
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 3
11-19-2012, 08:22 AM
The game should still support the Intel GPUs, but not all areas of the game, depending on the effects, may display the same. Experimenting with your graphic settings is ideal.

The developers are looking into things. Hopefully the STO forum gives you all some updates soon.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
# 4
11-22-2012, 05:23 PM
It would have been nice if this problem had been corrected on Tribble before it got to the Live server. Players would have understood if you had held it back to correct bugs before releasing Season 7. And having Support giving us the run around and BS answers did not help as well. We are not stupid, well not all of us at least. We don't expect to get the very best graphics on our cards. But we do expect the game to work right!
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 5
11-28-2012, 11:44 AM
Updated the first post in this thread, asking for more info.
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 6
11-29-2012, 01:54 PM
Personal feedback:
Attempting to do any kind of 3d PC gaming on an Intel video chipset is like trying to run a sports car on a go kart track. People can get lucky and have success for a little while, but it isn't always going to work. /opinions

The developers are looking into it, but they have not nailed down any absolutes yet.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
# 7
12-03-2012, 01:04 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthPanda16 View Post
One thing that you can try is deleting the GamePrefs.pref in the

C:\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\localdata

(folder location may be in Windows User data or other location depending on where you installed the game. )

Then restart the game.

Edit:

Please also make sure that your PC meets the system requirements.

http://sto.perfectworld.com/news/?p=560461

Intel video GPUs are not ideal to run STO (or any 3d game, really) very well, so it could be a challenge to get the game to run decently. Do consider a lower resolution, turn down the video settings in-game, and running the game in widowed mode or full screen.

You can try experimenting with the game's video/graphic settings and try to narrow down what could be causing the problems. You can try running the game in windowed mode or full screen mode, and lower/change the resolution that the game is running at.

You can try updating your mainboard, CPU, and video drivers. You may have to check your system manufacturer's support website with the model number for your system, along with the Windows version that you are running.


Edit update:

If deleting the prefs file does not work, and you still encounter the same issue and you have that chipset, please send tech support in a ticket the following:

1) Post a link to your dxdiag.txt (please name it to your character or alias name) here on the forum
2) Post a link to your new Gameprefs file that the game made after you deleted the old one.



PrefEntry GfxSettings.Antialiasing 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.AspectRatio 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.AutoEnableFrameRateStabilizer 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.BloomIntensity 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.BloomQuality 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterDetailLevel 0.5

PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterTexLODLevel 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DefaultFov 55

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DeviceType Direct3D9

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DisableSplatShadows 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DrawHighDetail 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DrawHighFillDetail 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DynamicLights 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.FrameRateStabilizer2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Fullscreen 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.FxQuality 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Gamma 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.GfxFeaturesDesired 8

PrefEntry GfxSettings.GPUAccelParticles 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.GraphicsQuality 0.667

PrefEntry GfxSettings.HigherSettingsInTailor 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.HighQualityDOF2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.LastRecordedPerf 1077.17

PrefEntry GfxSettings.LenseFlare 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.LightingQuality 10

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxDebris 100

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxFPS 60

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Maximized 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxInactiveFPS 5

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxLightsPerObject 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxReflection 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxShadowedLights 3

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MinDepthBiasFix 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MonitorIndex 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.PerFrameSleep 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.PoissonShadows 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.PreloadMaterials 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ReduceFileStreaming 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RefreshRate 60

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderScaleX 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderScaleY 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderThread 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenHeight 675

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenWidth 1006

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenXPos 142

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenYPos 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SettingsDefaultsVersion 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SettingsVersion 5

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ShowAdvanced 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SoftParticles 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SoftwareCursor2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SSAO 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.TerrainDetailLevel 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.TexAnisotropy 4

PrefEntry GfxSettings.UseFullSkinning 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.UseVSync2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoCardDeviceID 70

PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoCardVendorID 32902

PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoMemoryMaxHMBs 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldDetailLevel 0.25

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldLoadScale 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldTexLODLevel 1

PrefEntry HasSetGamma 1

PrefEntry InitialVirtualShard 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.atiCrossfireGPUCount 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.audioDriverName DirectSound

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.audioDriverOutput "Speakers / HP (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)"

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.audioDriverVersion 6.1.7600.16385

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.audioX64CheckSkipped 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.computerName DERICK-PC

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.cpuCacheSize 3473408

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.cpuIdentifier "Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2, GenuineIntel"

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.CPUSpeed 2.394e+009

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.diskFree 260671213568

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.diskTotal 319965622272

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.fmodVersion 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.hasSSE 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.hasSSE2 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isDx11Enabled 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isRunningNortonAV 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isUnsupportedSpecs 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isUsingD3DDebug 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isVista 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isWine 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isX64 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.material_hardware_supported_features "SM20| SM20_PLUS| SM30| SM30_PLUS"

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.material_supported_features "SM20| SM20_PLUS| SM30| SM30_PLUS| SM30_HYPER"

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.numMonitors 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.numRealCPUs 2

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.numVirtualCPUs 4

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.nvidiaSLIGPUCount 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER0_LowVersion 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER1_HighVersion 6

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER2_Build 7601

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER3_ServicePackMajor 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER4_ServicePackMinor 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER5_HostVersion 6.1.7600.16385

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.physicalMemoryAvailable 1993490432

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.physicalMemoryMax 4078759936

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.RAMSpeedGBs 1.89236

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.RenderingHacks REHA_NONE

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.supportedDXVersion 10

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.SVNBuildNumber 140890

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.Trivia

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.VideoCardDeviceID 70

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoCardName "Intel(R) HD Graphics"

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.VideoCardVendorID 32902

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoDriverState 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoDriverVersion 8.15.10.2827

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoMemory 1664

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.virtualAddressSpace 2147418134

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.wineVersion

PrefEntry VoiceCaptureList.devices <&\r\n{\r\n deviceName "Integrated Microphone Array (ID"\r\n recordLevel 40\r\n isActive 1\r\n}\r\n, \r\n{\r\n deviceName "Line In (IDT High Definition Au"\r\n recordLevel 40\r\n}\r\n, \r\n{\r\n deviceName "Microphone (IDT High Definition"\r\n recordLevel 40\r\n}\r\n&>

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.DuckPercent 0.5

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.InputDev 0

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.MicLevel 40

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.MultiMode ONEAUDIBLE

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.MuteInactive 0

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.NoVoice 0

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.OpenMic 0

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.OutputDev 0

PrefEntry VoiceOptions.SpeakerVolume 40

PrefEntry VoiceRenderList.devices <&\r\n{\r\n deviceName "Speakers / HP (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)"\r\n renderLevel 40\r\n isActive 1\r\n}\r\n, \r\n{\r\n deviceName "Headphones (RTC) (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)"\r\n renderLevel 40\r\n}\r\n&>
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 8
12-04-2012, 04:53 PM
The developers needs probably at least 10+ more of these.

Hosting your Gameprefs file AND your dxdiag somewhere and providing a link on this forum is ideal. Posting it any other way does not help tech support or the developers get the info.
Tech Support User
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
# 9
12-10-2012, 08:56 PM
See telling us that Intel cards are not meant to run 3D games is BS becuase... Mine can run them fine. In fact I can run Blacklight: Retribution another of PWE's games JUST FRACKING FINE!!! So stop blaming the cards!!! Some of us had no trouble on Season 6 so we know our computers can run this game fine....it is how we knew this was a bug in the first place. Also here read this:
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...=1#post6609941

Posting on that thread will reach more people and get more people involved! And yes I sent my game .prefs in to support. so they have that info.
Tech Support Machine
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,358
# 10
12-12-2012, 08:24 AM
Not blaming Intel video chipsets, just stating that they can handle all the pretty effects that the AMD and nVidia ones can.

Season 7 obviously is rendering some things that the Intel GPUs don't like, and it is being worked on and researched by the devs and QA at Cryptic.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 PM.